Confessions of a Closet Nerd

slowly making my way out…

20 Days of WoW Blogging: Things You Miss Post Cataclysm & Your Favorite Spot

Days 16 and 17 I’m going to combine because I’ve been slacking on this and because I’ve got the same answer for both prompts. Both the thing and place I miss the most post-Cataclysm is Dalaran and it just so happens to be the spot I love the most.

In BC, I never really hung around in Shattrath, mostly because it literally at the computer I had at the time to shreds so Dalaran was my first taste at hanging around in a neutral city. I remember questing in Hillsbrad and seeing this huge hole in the ground with a glowing purple dome over it and thinking about how pretty it was. I’d run to the dome over and over again hoping that some silly glitch would let me into it to explore it. Of course, now its just a hole in the ground because the city of Dalaran got catapulted into the air during Wrath.

Dalaran to me was everything. I spent countless hours on the stairs waiting for groups to form, inspecting other toons, doing dailies and waiting for friends to log on. The architecture and colors still take my breath away and there are a number of little nooks and benches to hide away in. Plus there is cake there. Cake! And fruit if you’re all into health food in MMOs too. During in-game holidays there wasn’t a huge struggle to find that obscure racial and class combination. To find it? Sit in Dalaran. Need to port to another major city? Dalaran could do that for you too. Argent tournament grounds? Run to the flight path and hang a left. Post-shattering, it seems like everyone is so spread out and I find it very boring and uneventful.

My favorite spot in game is there as well. There is a little apartment with a balcony upstairs from the bar that I spent the majority of my Wrath days in. I remember after killing the Lich King for the first time some guildies and I grabbed all the cake, booze and firecrackers that we could and sat on the balcony getting WoW-wasted and shooting off rockets. Much of my days were spent sitting in that apartment and waiting out dps ques, groups to form or searching for the books to complete the quests to get the Kirin Tor Familiar, which I’m still not done with.

Outside of WoW my favorite place is a little area in La Jolla not too far from my Chiropractor’s office. Its also not too far from where they shot the latest Real World installment here in San Diego. A lot of the beachy type places here aren’t the place to go if you want some serenity and quiet time. This area isn’t very secluded but its on a pretty steep street that most people are too lazy to walk down. Once a week I’ll go here to just sit, ground myself and enjoy the sound of the waves before heading home or back into work.

Previous Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13,14, 15.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. […] « 20 Days of WoW Blogging: Things You Miss Post Cataclysm & Your Favorite Spot  |   […]

  2. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13,14, 15, 16&17, 18&19. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

@HayFayFay

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

