Confessions of a Closet Nerd

slowly making my way out…

20 Days of WoW Blogging: Reason Behind Your Blog’s Name

A week down! 7 days in and 13 to go.

Closet nerd. Its pretty self-explainatory and covered in previous blogs but for the sake of discussion we’ll go there again! For a long time, I was a smidge ashamed of my video game hobby, especially Warcraft. For some reason the game is associated with being sloven, addicted and incredibly anti-social. Plus none of my friends shared the same hobby and had many times expressed their negative opinion of those who play the game and the game itself. So I previously just tucked my hobby away or shared it only with those that shared the same interest.

But why?

Warcraft has the same objective as almost any major sport, like basketball for instance. Gather friends/teammates with varying abilities to achieve a common goal. Everyone has a role, knows their role, and his hopefully well practiced in said role. You all gather resources or practice to improve on a skillset or item to make said objective easier to accomplish. Both wear some sort of spiffy attire which proudly displays who they are. Uniforms in hoops and that shiny tabard in Warcraft. Both seem pretty freakin’ similar, right? I mean to the point of both Warcraft and basketball having… gasp.. professional and even sponsored teams and players?

So why the hell is one more socially accepted than the other?

I struggled with that for the longest time especially because I hold both dearly as a part of my life. Why could I go around and proudly state that I played basketball at the University of Oregon and NOT that I play a flame throwing Mage on the Korgath server? It was absolutely silly for me to be proud of one and not the other! Which was why one day I threw it all to the wayside and decided to just “come out of the closet” if you will. I wrote one entry and shared it with friends on Facebook and some have questioned me about Warcraft, bookmarked my blog, etc. Its interesting to hear their perspective on things but at the same time I don’t really let their thoughts become my thoughts.

LOLOLOLNERDZ!
These are my confessions.

..and how killer is that MSPaint job?

Previous Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , ,

11 Responses

  1. […] @msherretz California, I've been up for hours! 1 hour ago « 20 Days of WoW Blogging: Reason Behind Your Blog’s Name  |   […]

  2. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  3. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9. Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

  4. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  5. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  6. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12. Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", […]

  7. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  8. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13,14. Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

  9. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13,14, 15. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  10. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13,14, 15, 16&17. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  11. […] Days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13,14, 15, 16&17, 18&19. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]

Leave a Reply

@HayFayFay

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

